Lightning

Rotopro Owners...quick question

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2005 | 11:47 AM
|
Question Rotopro Owners...quick question

Rotopro users....quick question.
I have been using the rotopros slotted and dimpled rotors for a few months now with Hawk HPS pads. Anyway, I love the better stopping power but had a question/observation. Does anyone hear a kind of "whoosing almost spinning bearing sound" when you go past a divider or other structure where the sound can bounce off. I hear this all the time and sometimes it goes away when I apply the brakes sometimes it will also get quieter when I apply the breaks. I do not believe it's my bearings...I was carefull to grease them well with Mobil 1 syn grease. I think it's just the rotors and the pads lightly touching and making this noise due to the design of the rotors? I took the wheel off and turn the rotors and could hear the noise slightly sounded like it was coming from the pad/rotor contacts.

Anyone?

Thanks, Jim

Old 08-08-2005 | 12:12 PM
I have the same rotors and pads, makes kind of a soft "card in the spokes" sound... drove me nuts at first. Stops well, nice and straight with no vibration.

Old 08-08-2005 | 12:46 PM
Careful with RotorPros. They aren't punned as RotorHo's for nothing.

Old 08-08-2005 | 01:11 PM
RotorHos?

Are they going to sleep with my best friend? Will I catch them tricking on the corner?

What does that even mean?

Old 08-08-2005 | 06:26 PM
I was about to post the EXACT same thing, even down to the mobile 1 grease on the bearings. When I put my rotors on I noticed the same thing. I have just gotten used to it. I figured it was normal for slotted rotors.

Jon

Old 08-08-2005 | 09:43 PM
|
Thanks for the responses. From what I hear...it's normal. Does sound just like the cards in the spokes. I guess I'll live with it since it stops GRRRRREEEEEAAAATTTTT!

BTW...LightninSVT, thanks for answering all my emails with quick responses!