Lightning

Expedition to Lightning Engine Conversion

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2000 | 05:30 AM
|
Post Expedition to Lightning Engine Conversion

This is my first post to the forum…sorry for the length!

I'm currently studying the possibility of swapping my 97 Expedition EB 5.4 4WD’s engine and tranny with one from the 99 Lightning. What I have gathered so far (mostly from posts in this bb) is that I would be needing the Lightning stock computer, instrument cluster, and the COP ignition to be able to do the transplant. I already have the lightning wheels and the front bumper and grille assembly. Brembo brakes for the Expedition are on order.

My questions are:

What other parts are needed to be able to successfully execute this transplant?

For those who already have purchased the lightning crate engine, what parts still need to be purchased (i.e. pulleys? Belts? Airbox?) Part numbers would be very much appreciated!

I understand that the transmission is the 4R100…is this exactly the same as the one in the diesels? Do they have the same part number?

Does anybody have the part numbers and pricing info on the COP ignition, instrument cluster and the computer module?

Mike Troyer mentioned that I might be needing a custom driveshaft. Can anyone ascertain this? I checked and it seems that the wheelbase of both the Lightning and the Expedition are the same at 119.8 inches.

Lastly, what suspension mods to the stock Expedition, other than the wider, lower profile tires, would I be need to keep the truck from tipping over at (increased) speed? I don’t want to lower the truck more than necessary.

Thanks for any info you guys might have and care to post. Kudos to all for the quality of this bb and for being such a great source of info!

I can also be reached by email at rainmaker@attglobal.net

[This message has been edited by Thunder (edited 01-08-2000).]

Old 01-09-2000 | 01:46 AM
Hey Thunder,