Lightning

N2O "Dry" vs"Wet"

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2000 | 02:15 PM
|
Question N2O "Dry" vs"Wet"

Hey All,

I'm new to the use of N2O.

I have heard different stories on the dry and wet kits.

Which one is the will be the least likely to have a backfire in the manifold/supercharger?

I thought a dry system would not have a backfire, because of no fuel in the manifold? N2O is nonflammable? If you have a injected motor, there is no fuel in the supercharger/manifold right?

As you can see I'm not 100% sure which kit to buy. I have a N.O.S. 5115 kit on the way, but I have read about the NX wet kit and now I'm not sure?

Thanks Kevin

Old 08-19-2000 | 02:48 PM
I am also curious as I can pick up a dry kit right now for a very very cheap price.

Old 08-19-2000 | 05:05 PM
Hey all, just got my 5115 kit from summit, cost 479.00. They have the upgrade kit for it also, but we dont need the extra fuel pump, and hoses. The instructions have a parts num breakdown so all you have to do is order the washer/shim, and the 2 orifaces/nozzels, for about another 35$, then the kit is supposed to be 150hp. The only thing i'm questioning is the location of the fogger nozzel, does it have to be in front of the t-body, or can I put it it the blower intake tract? Help please!!!

Old 08-19-2000 | 05:16 PM
Rumba,

I run one of these kits on my '96 Cobra. Mine is mounted in the plastic inlet tube neck...did not drill out the TB.

I do not believe it matters if its before or after the TB as far as performance gain goes. You're only going to be injecting it at WOT and 3-4" difference isn't going to matter.

I've had my kit on for 2 years with not one single problem.

------------------
Wes Tarbox
90 LX 5.0 (10.69 @ 134.7)--597rwhp/590rwtq
96 Cobra (12.63 @ 114.5)--392rwhp/433rwtq
99 Lightning (13.20 @ 103.3)--364rwhp/444rwtq
00 Expedition XLT 5.4
http://members.aol.com/Wa2fst/index.html

Old 08-19-2000 | 05:27 PM
Kevin,