Lightning

Head mod's ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2002 | 12:22 AM
|
Question Head mod's ?

I'm new to the modular motors, so cut me some slack. Bought my HD a few weeks back and have been reading the forums for a couple of months. I have read that there were limited to no benefits from installing headers on our motors (in near stock form). The theory that seems most accepted is the exhaust port is so poor, stock, that improving the exhaust manifold can't remove the bottle neck. My question is, why doesn't head porting get more attention? It would be much lower on the "visual" inspection by the "warranty police" than a pulley. I'm not discounting the pulley idea, but if the head would flow better, wouldn't we get more hp with less boost? This would mean less pressure, less detonation, and less heat! The Mustang mod racers seem to make more of this than we do here.

So, shouldn't we give this more thought? It sure sounds easier with my experience than trying to remove a press on pulley possibly damaging expensive bearings.

Has anyone heard anymore on the near future of aftermarket heads for our motors? They have been threatening this since early spring. Hopefully, the sparkplug issue will be addressed.

Old 06-25-2002 | 09:20 AM
Smile

Most peaple find changing the spark plugs a challenge let alone swapping cylinder heads. It does look a little intimidating under there. This reminds me of when I had a Buick GN, there was a lot of head gaskets that had to be replaced back then and I suspect there still are. Someone once said that he didn't think owning one of those cars would mean also owning an engine stand and a cherry picker .
The PI cylinder head is not an easy piece to port. Its not a cylinder head that you can attack with a dremel tool and a jegs porting kit and find "easy gains" on. I do a lot of head porting myself, but I know when it is time to step aside and let a pro take over. The guy who did my heads is John Haskell (Aire Reasearch Inc. 253-848-1628)