Lightning

Stupid ?, about changing Fuel Filter.

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2002 | 03:13 PM
|
Stupid ?, about changing Fuel Filter.

ok, i here alot of you guys recommend changing fuel fiters often, and i dont have much experience with this job, i like the do it yourself jobs, but only with directions, because im not too good at figuring it out for myself. so my ? is where is the fuel filter located (i could probably figure it out, but too lazy to check), and is there a certain filter you guys recommend... and what do i do about the install, i think it's just take off the houses on both ends, bracket up the new one, plug back in???? or am i wrong, let me know, i hear change every oil change, and i havent changed yet, and i have 6200 miles. thanks guys.

Old 11-26-2002 | 03:17 PM
I would change mine mine about every third oil change or about every 10K miles. Every oil change is too often in my opinion.

Old 11-26-2002 | 03:18 PM
Along the inside of the drivers side frame rail, about as far back as the exhaust exit on the passenger side. Motorcraft works fine for filters, both oil and fuel.

Changing frequency depends on your local fuel quality, mine down here was fine after 12K miles, others have black gunk after 6K or less.

Old 11-26-2002 | 03:26 PM