4.10 gear, Eaton LS install VERY LONG

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2003, 11:10 PM
WLF
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
4.10 gear, Eaton LS install VERY LONG

Instillation of 410 gears and Eaton Posi-unit in 8.8 rear

First disclaimer- I am not a professional mechanic. I have been an armature (shade-tree) mechanic for many years. I have been told I could/should make money doing this but what would I do for fun?

I didn't take as many pictures as I wanted. This always happens once I get started.

Let me start by going over the terms you have to research and KNOW prior to this instillation:
-Pinion depth (how close the pinion is to the ring gear center line)
-Backlash (how close the ring gear is to the pinion)
-Pinion Bearing preload (how much bearing drag is on the pinion bearings)
-Carrier Bearing preload (how much bearing drag is on the carrier bearings)
-Contact patterns
Take your time and research this on the web. There really is a lot of information available to you on these subjects. Keep reading until you feel you really understand the information. I will include some links here that will help you.
Randy's Ring and pinion

There are also some tools you will need access to so you can complete this job as follows:
-Foot lbs torque wrench
-Inch lbs torque wrench
-Dial indicator (hopefully with a magnetic mount)
-Micrometer to .001
-Bearing puller – the better the puller the easier the job
-Bearing press (I used the bearing puller in reverse for the pinion bearing and seated the carrier bearings by driving them on with the old bearings, probably not the best way)
-Assorted breaker bars and tools
-Pinion (to drive shaft) flange puller (mine came right off but you may need the puller), a pulley puller will do
-Tool to hold the pinion flange. You will need to make a flange holder out of angle iron if you don’t have something else to hold the pinion flange. I got a piece of 3 ft. angle iron from a local