How to break in the front axle gears in a 4x4?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2006, 06:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How to break in the front axle gears in a 4x4?

Maybe this is a stupid question guys but i am not a mechanic anyway. My question is, i just had 4.56 Precision gears installed on my Mark LT 4X4 truck 2 days ago and i read a lot of things about break-in period like this from Precision Gears website:

1. Insure that the axle has been filled to the correct level with
proper hypoid lubricant before driving the vehicle.
The oil rating must be GL5 or higher.

2. Bring the axle to normal operating temperature by driving the
vehicle (unloaded) for approximately 15 to 20 miles. Do not
run full throttle accelerations or create any shock loads.

3. Let the axle assembly cool completely.

4. For the next 200 miles of operation, drive gently, without any
heavy loads.

5. If trailer towing is intended, an additional cycle of 200 to 300
miles of break-in is required without the trailer. This is important!
To properly break-in a new gear set, a minimum of 500 miles of
driving is essential before towing.

Ok, here is the question, if my truck is a 4X4, do i have to engage the 4X4 traction in order to break in the front gears too or it doens not make sense. Thnaks a lot guys.

Old 01-06-2006, 08:57 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
no you do not need to engage 4x4, your ring and pinion in the front are spinning they just arent getting any input(power) from the transfer, you should be fine i recomend a 500 mile mixed driving no long trip break in with a fliud change at 500 miles when i do gears, good luck

Old 01-06-2006, 10:30 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
-Joe

edit: Just realized it was a MarkLT, not a 150.... ignore my initial post....

You'll need to manually engage the front hubs, and that means connecting the vacuum lines that lock them in to a vacuum source. I don't know where the control solenoid is for them offhand.... need to do some reading first.

-Joe