are my hubs bad?

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2006, 10:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
are my hubs bad?

i just bought a 95 f150 flareside 4 x 4,when i go to engage it in four wheel you hear the motor kick in and a slight click in the transfer case when put it in four wheel drive low you hear the clunk and the transfer case engage.when you put the truck in driveyou have no power to the wheels in either 4l or 4h.you still hear a whine when you are driving and it stops when you take it out of 4 wheel.also when you are driving on the parkway at cruising speed once and a while you will feel like the hub locks up then unlocks usualy when the trans is about to downshift.im new to fords (long time chevy man) so any help to a newbie would be appreciated thanks.

Old 03-27-2006, 10:34 AM
Originally Posted by package34
i just bought a 95 f150 flareside 4 x 4,when i go to engage it in four wheel you hear the motor kick in and a slight click in the transfer case when put it in four wheel drive low you hear the clunk and the transfer case engage.when you put the truck in driveyou have no power to the wheels in either 4l or 4h.you still hear a whine when you are driving and it stops when you take it out of 4 wheel.also when you are driving on the parkway at cruising speed once and a while you will feel like the hub locks up then unlocks usualy when the trans is about to downshift.im new to fords (long time chevy man) so any help to a newbie would be appreciated thanks.
Wow, talk about hard to read and follow.

Let me get this straight, when you hit the 4X4 switch, you hear what you believe is the transfer case engaging, same for shifting to 4L from 4H.

Do you have auto hubs or manual?

Jack up the front end, turn the ignition on, engage the 4X4 and see if the shafts turn with the wheel, if so the hubs lock at least so you should have power to the front wheels if everything else if fine.