rear end fluid

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2006, 09:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
rear end fluid

so i have a 2k2 f150 XTR (if the XTR makes any diff lol), its a posi 3.55. i have 71,000Km's on it and i was wondering when do you change the rear end fluid, along with what you change it with. I hear synthetics are the best, is this true? i use mobil 1 10w30 motor oil, does mobil 1 make rear end stuff as well? sorry for all the questions, im still a noob but i wanna learn

Old 08-17-2006, 09:39 AM
Hi,

Doesn't your engine call for 5w20, if so, I would be using that and not 10w30 as that is the wrong viscosity.

I believe the rear end needs 75/140 synthetic gear oil, mobil 1 also makes this, I would also add at least 4, maybe 8oz of Ford Friction Modifer available through your local dealerships parts counter.

Hope that helps.

Old 08-17-2006, 09:51 AM
it helps thanks! also yes it does call for 5w20 but heres the reason i use 10w30.

in a nutshell.

i ordered my truck from ford in the summer, there was a slight delay and to compensate i got 3 free oil changes from the dealer. once winter hit and it got really cold like it always does in canada i go to start it up in the morning and i hear a clanging/rattling noise like keys or something. i ask my old man what was going on he said it seemed like the oil was running out of the,...block? lol im still fairly new so bear with me . anyway he asked what weight it was i said 5w20. he said that was my problem, some people go too thick and the oil doesnt get where its supposed to be by the time the motor starts, and then they go thinner to compensate. so he said its too thin and does the same thing, runs out. so thats why i use 10w30, no clanging/rattling noise at all.

Old 08-17-2006, 10:06 AM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by Spinal
it helps thanks! also yes it does call for 5w20 but heres the reason i use 10w30.

in a nutshell.