93 f150 4x4 doesn't engage - vacuum prob?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2006, 01:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 93 f150 4x4 doesn't engage - vacuum prob?

Hi everybody!
just got stuck in the sand, front diff. doesn't engage. How does it work anyway (I am not really a mechanic ). does it engage trough vacuum? if yes, where does the hose go? here is my deal:
there is a hose coming from the front differential but it ends open right by where the brake-fluid-distributer sits (near the front drive shaft, kinda' in the frame) now I would assume that this hose should go somewhere and get vacuum (from the transfer-case or from some actuator?) - but I can't find neither the other end nor where it should go!
could the rest of the hose have been ripped out somehow or am I totally on the wrong track?
looked at vac diagrams but they don't tell about the 4x4 engaging system...
any ideas?

Old 10-14-2006, 02:05 PM
I know even less but that hose sounds like the vent hose and doesn't hook to anything. Do you have push button 4x4 or manual shift. If manual shift the hubs are not locking in, get a set of manual hubs.

Old 10-14-2006, 02:31 PM
hey thanks for the lightning reply
I have automatic tranni/push button 4x4, the button lights come on, tested on the front drive shaft- I can spin it without 4x4, it's locked when 4x4 is engaged, so I suppose the transfer case is doing its job (also hear the little bang when engaging).
now if my dead-end hose is a vent hose like you say - how does the front end engage? I know it does 'cause usually I can hear it disengage whenever I go from 4x4 to 2wd.
I used to have a Blazer (I know - I should'nt say that here ) and that front end engaged through a vacuum driven actuator (sitting somewhere underneith the battery) which pulled a wire rope going inside the front end to lock it.
Well I'm just learning the Ford-way so I'm gonna crawl under there again....

-----------------------------------
'93 F150 V8 5.0 4x4 automatic