Old 03-15-2007, 06:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Help needed. Which replacement should I go with in my '99? 8.8" or 9.75"

My truck
1999 F-150 XLT O/R 4x4 SuperCab
4.6L V8
8.8" rear end with 3.55 LS
92,000 miles

I'm an adequate backyard mechanic and can do most simple repairs myself. A couple of days ago I started having some vibration problems in my truck that felt exactly like a driveshaft U-joint going bad. So I popped the driveshaft off, felt the joints and... odd... While one of the rear joint axis felt a little stiff, it didn't feel anywhere near bad enough to cause the jumping I'd felt while going down the highway. I had a somewhat cold feeling in my stomach as I replaced the joint and reinstalled the driveshaft. I took it out for a test drive and, sure enough, the vibration was still there. This pretty much eliminated the easy, cheap, U-joint fix and pointed at an expensive rear end problem.

Luckily for me, my brother is a mechanic who owns his own shop about an hour away from me. I called him up yesterday and told him what I'd found and he agreed with my diagnosis. So I drove it down to him last night. Unfortunately he had a job that was taking longer than expected, so we didn't get a chance to pull the cover and take a look as his bays were full. Instead, we had a few beers, caught up on local events and generally BS'ed for awhile. Then he gave me an older Chevy pickup to use as a loaner until he could get mine back on the road and I drove home.