how to change gear lube

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2007, 01:09 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
how to change gear lube

Hey guys i just went out and bought new royal purple lube for my front and rear diffs. However i have no experience whatsoever with changing lube in diffs. I got the75w-90 in the front and 75w-140 in the rear. How tough of a job will this be and how does it take?

also any advice before i start would be awesome

Thanks alot

Old 04-06-2007, 01:20 PM
Originally Posted by laxwarrior013
Hey guys i just went out and bought new royal purple lube for my front and rear diffs. However i have no experience whatsoever with changing lube in diffs. I got the75w-90 in the front and 75w-140 in the rear. How tough of a job will this be and how does it take?

also any advice before i start would be awesome

Thanks alot
It's easy. Pop the covers off and let the oil drain. Scrape off the old gasket using a razor blade and install a new one (if you're cheap or didn't order one you can just use the form-a-gasket tube stuff. Make sure to let the gasket-maker sit for about 10 minutes so it becomes tacky and doesnt squeeze out when the cover is installed). Install the cover and then put the new oil in using the fill cap. Fill it up until fluid starts to leak out of the filler cap. Presto. Shouldn't take more than an hour and regular sockets to do the trick.

Last edited by NHSP-06; 04-06-2007 at 01:28 PM.
Old 04-06-2007, 01:46 PM
uh ohhh...i dont have a new diff gasket or that other make a gasket stuff. how much is a new gasket?

Old 04-06-2007, 02:25 PM
uh ohhh...i dont have a new diff gasket or that other make a gasket stuff. how much is a new gasket?
call your local Ford dealer and they may have one in stock. If not, you can just go to a local Pep Boys or auto store and they will sell the make-a-gasket tube stuff. The tube stuff isn't expensive, I don't know what a diff gasket from Ford would cost though.

Old 04-06-2007, 02:33 PM