4X4 Problem...

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2008, 12:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
4X4 Problem...

First I want to say hello, this is my first time posting but I have read many helpful posts on the site.

My F150 is a 2004 4.6L 4X4 with 48K miles. When I make sharp turns while in 4Hi my truck will shutter or jump forward (also does this in reverse) feels like it is coming from the front axle. (Do not know if it does this in 4low because i do not use it much)

Also recently decided to use my 4low and noticed that the gauge light was not coming on and did not seem lock into 4x4. So I decided to put in 4H real fast and that was working.

One more thing is when I am at a stop sign and turn on 4x4 it will not lock in until I come to another stop.

Sorry to bluntly put all of this info out here and not state my opinions on what the problem could be but i have no clue (I do not know how the F150's 4X4 completely works I have only worked on my ranger's.)

Old 02-11-2008, 02:12 AM
JMC
Technical Article Contributor

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
Are you doing this on a dry hard surface like asphalt? That would explain the jumping. 4x4 on slippery surface only. To engage 4Lo you need to be almost stopped, less than 3 mph, tranny in Neutral and foot on the brake. If this is happening on a slippery surface then your hubs are possibly locking and unlocking....

JMC

Old 02-11-2008, 09:44 AM
I only use my 4x4 when I need it. Which is in the snow. You need to have tranny in Neutral for 4Low? Did not know this part I will have to play with my truck in a couple seconds to see if it works! Thanks for the comment!

Old 02-11-2008, 09:58 AM
I just tried going into 4low. Seems to be working. Thanks for the info on the 4low! I still am wondering what is up with the front axle when I am turning sharp.

It has always been on a wet surface and it seems to happen the most when I go reverse out of a parking spot and then make a hard turn to clear the park cars.