lock right or replace LS clutches in rear?

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2009, 02:11 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question lock right or replace LS clutches in rear?

ok so i know this has probably been beaten into the ground but i didnt see anything specific for my situation. i have a 98 2wd w/ 4.6L and some 33's. ill be getting some 4.56's for christmas and figured while i had the diff open i would do something to help turn a 1 wheel drive into a 2 wheel drive. i have the factory LS unit in there now but it needs some new clutches.

now, i dont do any serious off-roading but i'm an eagle scout and am a firm believer in be prepared. if something happend, i would like to have the ability to get through what i need to. i would only be going through mud if i did leave the asphalt.

now, im a poor college student and cannot afford an expensive locker, neither do i need one. i just want something i can afford and will work better than i have now. both of these options will do this. i just want some info. i know the factory LS doesnt work all that well but thats about all i know.

i can probably afford the lock right but def. nothing any more expensive.

and this truck is my daily driver and will see about 15,000 miles a year on the road.

so, lock right locker or replace the clutch packs on the factory LS unit?

Old 12-21-2009, 03:12 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
The new clutch pack from summit racing is about 75 bucks and fairly simple to install. If money is the issue then I'd replace the clutches. Then you can plan long term for the more expensive locker.
A scout is thrifty!!
ASM Troop 107-Corona CA

Old 12-21-2009, 10:21 AM
I get what you're saying but I guess I need to clear things up a little bit. I guess my question is will the lock right be enough for me? And will it hurt the truck's driveability? I won't mind popping or clicking noises comming from the axle but if it's gonna lock it up all the time and wear out the tires or break an axle, I don't want it.