Limited Slip vs ARB Locker

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2001, 03:57 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Limited Slip vs ARB Locker

I have read a lot of info about LS vs open diffs here lately and decided to jump in and ask a few questions of my own. I have a '91 F-150 5.0/auto 2wd XLT Lariat Reg. Cab. About 10-15 times a year I take the truck on back roads (dirt/gravel) or snowy mountains (ski resorts). I really can't justify a 4wd truck so I am looking into limited slip options:

1. How does a factory LS affect handling in normal highway driving? Any under-steer or squirrelyness?

2. I've read that LS can cause problems in icy/snowy conditions due to both rear wheels sliding out and causing loss of control. I have a lot of winter driving experience and wonder if this will be a big factor or something that a competent driver can work with.

3. I'm also considering the ARB air locker as I can switch it on and off as needed but I've read somewhere that there is a 45 minute limit on having the air compressor engaged (somthing to do with the duty cycle on the compressor). Also, does anybody have an approximate cost on install for one of these? I'll have to have a garage do it.

Thanks all for your responses and best wishes for the holidays.

DirtBee

Old 12-24-2001, 09:59 PM
I have never had a driveability problem with a L/S diff. Everything I've owned in the last 15 years has had a L/S diff.

Only complaint with the Auburn "Pro" series in my 1979 F-150; when standing on the throttle hard, from a stand still on slippery surface, vehicle right rear jerks to the right. I have learned to over come this right hand "jerk" by getting out of the throttle for just a moment--then vehicle is hooked-up.

OEM trac-loc does not impress me at all; however, they are better than an open diff. It seems to me when OEM trac-loc gets some wear--they do not work as well.