4 Hi engagement

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2002, 07:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry 4 Hi engagement

I have a '97 F-150 Stepside 4x4. I have the floor shifted transfer case. I use the 4x4 mainly for bad weather, no real thrashing off road. I got the truck used and the 4hi worked for a very short time but the 4lo worked fine. But w/ the recent snow storm here, the 4lo was having a hard time engaging sometimes. It seems to me the cold had something to do w/ it because it seemed after the truck was warmed up it would engage. Is this transfer case electronically activated? Why is the 4lo working and not the 4hi?I would think if the 4WD was not working it would'nt work in either, but I'm no master mechanic. I really think it's either electronic related or temperature related or a combination of both. Any ideas?

Old 01-07-2002, 08:02 PM
JMC
Technical Article Contributor

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
SOHC,

Does the 4x4 light come on when you shift to 4hi? When you shift to 4Hi, is the truck able to move forward or does it seem to be in Neutral? When in 4Lo do the front wheels spin?

Regards

Jean Marc Chartier

Old 01-08-2002, 03:28 AM
The light does'nt come on when I pull it to 4hi. The truck will move fine even when the lever is in 4hi(Just no 4WD). 4lo works fine most of the time except when it's very cold, once the truck is warmed up, it does great(In 4lo). 4hi does'nt work at all. I do know that when you engage 4lo, the solenoid clicks and the light comes on,engaging 4lo, but nothing at all happens when I pull it into 4 hi. Could it be a linkage problem?

Old 01-08-2002, 03:49 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am not sure, but I think the 4WD is electronically controlled, and it may be a bad fuse or something like that. Maybe a short in a wire that causes bad contact when it gets cold. Does this make sense to anyone? Just my $.02.

Old 01-08-2002, 10:33 AM
JMC