Is it difficult to do it yourself?

Search this Thread

Old 06-05-2002, 07:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Is it difficult to do it yourself?

I have a 97' F150 with a 4.2 V6 3.08 rear end manual tranny and I'm have a heck of a time pulling my boat up slick ramps. Adding to the problem is oversized tires (P255's). I am looking at changing my gear ratio and want to know everyones opinion on wether this can be done at home and what ratio to put in. My mechanical aptitude is high (I'm an aircraft mechanic) but I know I do not have some of the specialty tools needed to do the job and I've never done this particular job before.

How long will it take a novice to do this?

What tools are needed?

And, should I even attempt this?

Thanks for your help,

JAS

Old 06-05-2002, 10:45 PM
I'm in the process of changing out my 3:08 to a 3:73. Last night my buddy and I spent 6 hours, got the gears swapped out. Spent 2 hours so far tonight adjusting the gears, I think we're real close to what we need. Taking a break now suffering from sleep depravation. If I had lots of money, I pay someone to do it for me, if they were reputable. I don't have lots of money so I am doing it myself and saving 3 or 4 hundred $. It definetly goes better with two people, putting the dif case in and out with shims in place. It still remains to be seen what kind of job I will end up with. The tools aren't too specialized. You can probably find what you need at your work, dial indicator, torque wrench, a micrometer is nice to check the size of shims. Also, I got a bedrug with the money I saved! Good luck!

Jeff

Old 06-06-2002, 12:22 PM
Thanks