Suspension And Shuttering

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2005 | 03:10 PM
|
Question Suspension And Shuttering

OK, I have a 2004 2wd F-150 super crew and recently put on 22" wheels, and all was well still a great ride very smooth. Last night I installed 2" lowering shackles and drove the truck and now it shutters from 15-20 mph! Under accelerating/braking/or just consistant speed. Also since day one it has had throttle lag and a very non-responsive throttle, and I drove a 2005 rental and my friends 2004 and both of them have very responsive throttles. Any suggestions?

Old 02-18-2005 | 02:24 PM
Sorry, I have no experience with the new bodystyle F150. However, as to the shutters.....

Since it started after the addition of the lowering shackles, you may need pinion shims (On 97-04s you do not need them until a 3 or 4 inch lowering). Look under a stock 05 in the area of the driveshaft and rearend connection, now look at yours. Is there a difference in the angle of the rearend connection to the driveshaft? If so, you need a 3 or 4 degree shim. The pinion shim is a wedge shape piece of metal. It bolts to the bottom of the leafspring pack (will need a longer head centerpin bolt) and re-aligns your driveshaft where it connects to the rearend. If not, you may not have the shackle bolts torqued correctly.

As to your throttle......

Throttle cable could be stretched, and or
throttle linkage may need lubrication, and or
bad gas (common in Winter), and or
your truck has a smaller engine, and or
your rearend gear ratio is different than the others, and or
your truck is a heavier version, and or
larger overall diameter tires will hurt response, and or
vacuum leak (hose disconnected somewhere under the hood)

Old 02-18-2005 | 02:44 PM
|