Lockers?

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2005, 08:13 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lockers?

A Friend of mine is trying to convince me that putting "lockers" in the front of my truck will make my traction in snow a hell of alot better. Something about any truck in 4x4 is really only 2 wheel drive and a 4x2 is really only one wheel drive....I guess it has to do with wheel spin. ( im really not a mechanical guy can you tell?)

So anyway is this true? he says lockers will make it seem like front wheel drive and will pull the truck through anything especially in 4x4.

Old 04-30-2005, 10:13 AM
YEah it ll be sweet only if your rockcrawling off roading

no, It will make it worse...say..what if your on the road with snow covered...put in 4x4, maybe fool around driving or struggle to get out of snow area, u try to spin the tires fast or try get you out of stuck area then, sudden your front tire (either one) grab the good traction (dry pavemnt) and it will lead to snap the axleshaft or inside the diff gears- not good!

My suggest is Detriot true trac. its best limit slip cuz it has no clutch pack, no wear parts..
Or
get select locker like ARB, ox lockers or electric locker (eatson)

Myself a rockcrawling with jeep.. i know pretty good stuff about lockers etc..there will be always have different opinions but most will agree with me...

HTH!
YOMAN!

Old 04-30-2005, 06:42 PM
so something that gives me limited slip would be best???

what is involved and what kind of cost?

Old 05-01-2005, 08:20 AM
FOrget to ask you, whats purpose for your truck? fun off roading or hunting or ??

Yup it would be best for your truck...Its my opinion..

I dont know what your truck has... like gears, motor etc ?

If you have $$, you can get ARB, OX, eaton locker or detriot electric locker (Selectlocker) is a bit more money..when your on road, you can turn it off or disengage so it wont harm to your front axle.