Towing & Hauling

Will my truck haul it?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2004, 08:54 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Will my truck haul it?

Hi all,
I'm a newbie here and have owned since new, a '95 4x4 extended cab Eddie Bauer F-150.
I've added a set of Gibson headers and a Gibson cat back exhaust system, an air raider intake spacer, a K&N cone air filter, and replaced the crank driven fan with an electric fan.
My truck has a 5.0L engine, auto tranny, 3.31 ratio regular axle, trailer towing pkg, offroad pkg (skid plates & handling pkg), heavy duty rear suspension pkg.
Now to my question.....I've recently ordered a 28.3' 5th wheel that weighs in at 7700lbs dry. Just wondering if anyone has experienced pulling something this heavy with their truck, I realize my truck's rated pull is 6250lbs, but my truck has a tad more power than it did when it came from the factory.
I'm currently doing my due diligence on a replacement truck now, just in case I'm not satisfied with the towing results as well as this inner gut feeling about being over the safety margin.
I'm looking at either a new F250 6.0 diesel, or a new Dodge with the 5.9 Cummins (sorry 'bout that!)
If anyone could share their experience, I'd be thankful.
Regards,
Gary.

Old 03-10-2004, 11:55 AM
APT
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
That is way over the ratings for your truck. 7700 pounds dry = about 9500-10,000 pounds wet and loaded up with travel gear. Power is not the limiting factory when manufactuers give their vehicles the tow ratings. Suspension, brakes, frame all play key rolls in determining the rating. In general, most people feel comfortable towing around 75-80% of the rated to limits. In your case, about 5000 is the most I recommend for any kind of regular towing. I would not plan to use your truck to do anything but move this trailer around your yard.

Old 03-10-2004, 12:13 PM