Towing & Hauling

new to towing...questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2005, 08:33 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
new to towing...questions

Bought a new F150 2004 Lariat Scab (5.4), 6.5' bed, 4x4, Nov.11 2004. The truck has the Ford tow package with a 3.73 regular axle. I have been paying people to haul my horse for the past 6 years, I finally have the machine to do it myself. Being new at towing, I have a few questions that will help me get started.
1.) Under the dash on the drivers side is a mounting plate, and a connector. Is this a good place to intstall the Prodigy Brake control?
2.) I was given at the time of sale a Ford brake control wiring set, do I need to order a, Tekonsha OEM wiring harness to fit my trucks connector and ford wiring harness ?
3.) Is it better to use the traditional bracket mount or the pocket mount?
4.) Trailer weight 2,300 lbs + 2 horses and gear 2,400 lbs=4,700 lbs, should I use a WD Hitch? Or is there another method I am not aware of.
5.) What is the approximate curb weight of my truck? has a 27gal fuel tank.
Please feel free to answer any or all of the questions,any information will be greatly appreciated.
By the way my truck has 2,500 miles on it , runs quiet and smooth, no problems...
6.) Almost forgot....the owners guide states, " not to drive towing a trailer the first 500 miles(have not towed yet) , and not to go over 50mph for the first 500 miles of towing, this style of driving will help the engine and other parts of your vehicle wear-in at the heavier loads." How did you guys do it, and how did it work out? Going 50mph on the highway could be a little dangerous, when the speed limit is 65 and most traffic is doing 75. On the other hand I sure do not want to damage my truck.
Cheers to all Ford Truck Owners

Old 01-10-2005, 01:09 PM