Towing & Hauling

towing a boat

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2005, 03:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
towing a boat

I am looking at purchasing a 26' boat in the near future. The problem I am having is the boat is 10,864#'s. This includes the trailer,boat,84 gallons of fuel, 20 gallons of H2O and gear ect.. I realize that I could tow with less fuel and no H2O but this would still leave me towing around 10000#'s. I own a 04' F150 Lariat 5.4L 4x4 supercrew w/the tow pkg. I am located in Columbus,Ohio. I plan on trailering it to lake Erie3-5 times each summer,which is about a 260mi round trip. I also plan on trailering it to lake Cumberland once a summer.This is about a 6hr trip to SE Kentucky. This will be a hilly trip and there will be some mountain driving included. The boat would be on a triaxle trailer w/surge brakes for each axle. It is difficult to determine in the owners manual if this truck is capable of performing such a task. As you can tell, I am a rookie at towing. Any and all advice is welcome!

Old 01-30-2005, 07:53 PM
Well you are rated to tow 9,200 pounds that is what Ford rates a 04 F-150 supercrew 5.4L 4x4.

I would say you will be good to 10,000 pounds. I would put some load leveling bags on the rear and make sure your hitch/trailor has the Weight distirbution. You will have to pull with overdrive off. I would also try to get some extra horsepower out of it. Get a chip that is enhanced for towing. You will need some torque getting that thing rolling.

Might also suggest seeing if you can find some 4.10 gears for it to switch your's out.

Or see if your dealer will let you trade up to a F-250.

Old 01-31-2005, 10:43 AM