Towing & Hauling

towing trailer with motorcycle in bed

Search this Thread

Old 02-07-2005, 09:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
towing trailer with motorcycle in bed

i am a newbie at towing and was wondering if using an 04 f150 fx4, with 3.73 rear, and 18" wheels with the towpackage and ,5.4 engine can handle towing a travel trailer with a 600lb yamaha vmax motorcycle in the bed. how much tongue weight can the truck handle? it is set up to toy up to 9500 lbs right now. how do i figure out how big of a trailer i can safely pull? i think the tongue weight of a trailer is 10-15% of the total trailer weight? we are heading to valley forge to check out an rv show and trying to figure out if going to a travel trailer and the bike in the bed will work ok....the wife likes the idea of more space for camping and not using the space for a garage for the bike as in a toyhauler.....going with a toyhauler i would need an enclosed rear garage so as to not smell fuel from the bike.....all thoughts welcome please! thanks....

Old 02-07-2005, 11:18 PM
Nice Vmax Jim, I have a 83' Magna V65. I know, yours is faster. ha-ha. I dont understand your set up. How heavy is your trailer ? You said something about toy up to 9500 lb ? I dont think your truck is rated for 9500 lb. What ever the case, I think a motorcycle in the bed would add to the gross combined weight, just like adding a few more people in the cab. I think the tonge weight is really for stablility (10% rule). Look in your owners manual for the max tow weight. How heavy is your trailer ?

Old 02-08-2005, 01:09 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
You'll need to get your truck weighed first. Then look at the door jamb sticker and see what it's GVWR is. Subtract the actual weight from this and that's the amount of payload you can have.

Payload is anything added to the truck that was not there when you got the initial weight. Add that bike, payload.... Add an additional person, payload.... That cooler full of beer, payload....