Towing & Hauling

Weight Distribution Hitch Settings

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2007, 12:52 PM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Weight Distribution Hitch Settings

So after pulling the trailer a few times, I started playing with the hitch a little to see what's what?? I ended up raising the ball on the mount by one hole (1 1/2") and expirimented with different chains on the WDH.

Do you guys use different links based on your load and things like that? With the bikes in the trailer, that's 800 lbs behind the axles of the traler, so I discovered the trailer/truck sits good in one less link than without the bikes.

My question is, is there a limit or some things you don't want to do with this hitch?? like getting the chain/bars up to far and things like that? Thanks for any tips, cause everything I've tried so far seems to work good.

I didn't even notice a difference in the trailer (towing/driving wise, not weight wise) with the bikes in there. Even though I'm sure there was some reduced tounge weight from the bikes being so far aft, the trailer still pulled awesome. There must be a lot of tongue weight without the bikes then??

Old 06-23-2007, 04:15 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The only thing I have messed with is the number of links. If I don't lay the weight of the trailer on the truck and then I can get five links. Then the truck seems to buck a little over bumps. But with 6 links the back of the truck sags just a little with no bucking.

Old 06-24-2007, 04:37 AM
About the only thing you want to watch is getting the ends of the bars too close to the trailer frame. So, you want to keep at least 5 links under tension. This gives enough room for the chains and bars, especially on tight turns.

When the bar ends are close to the frame, they can hit the frame on tight turns.