Towing & Hauling

Another towing question...

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009 | 05:39 PM
|
Another towing question...

I purchased an '08 F150 FX2 SuperCrew. It states, on the door panel, that my GVWR is 7,050lbs. If I understand GVWR correctly, that is the combined weight of my truck and all it's payload...including trailer. The owner's guide says I have a max GCWR of 13,500lbs and a max trailer weight of 8,000lbs.....WTF! What is that 7,050lb figure. I don't get it. I'm new to understanding what I can pull, but not new to pulling a trailer. Can someone please explain this for me? Thnks

Old 03-09-2009 | 06:48 PM
|
Still needing an explanation, but read my owner's guide a little further. It states that the GCWR is the amount of the F150 and trailer combined............So then if I take GCWR and subtract the GVWR, that still means (I think) that my trailer can be no more than 6,450lbs. But the guide still stated MAX TRAILER WEIGHT IS 8,000 LBS...

Old 03-09-2009 | 07:30 PM
Forget all about the stated "max trailer weight"... That only comes into play if you do not load your truck anywhere near it's GVWR....

What you have to do is get your truck weighed as it sits in the driveway with you and however many other 'beings' you will normally be hauling. Take this weight and subtract it from that GVWR your truck has and that's how much 'payload' you have left to load up the bed with, or add a trailers tongue weight to.

For examples sake, lets say you weigh your truck and it comes in at #6000. That means you can load up an additional #1050 to match your trucks GVWR. You still need to be conscience of the fact that you can still exceed your rear axle weight rating, but lets stick with only one thing at a time for now!