Towing & Hauling

New to trucks/towing...tips?

Search this Thread

Old 04-20-2009, 01:31 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New to trucks/towing...tips?

Hey there,

I am a total newbie to the world of trucks and towing, for despite being a horse owner for many years, I somehow survived without owning a truck. Finally decided to bite the bullet, as I want to be able to tow a trailer with a couple tons of hay for my horses.

I got lucky (I think, pray, hope...) and found a beautiful 1992 F-150 with a 5.8 V8, 4WD, auto, tow package, some after market thing (I think called a gear splitter or something like that) that is supposed to make things better when you tow, also some kind of cooler thingy for when you are towing...my husband would know all the details.

The truck literally belonged to a lovely grandmother who kept it in immaculate condition, and it only has about 124,000 miles on it. It looks almost brand new. Only thing we saw that my husband thinks needs replacing is the hangers (?) in the rear. Other than that, looks good inside and out, besides perhaps needing some minor things the hubby can take care of -- he's a pretty good car dude.

What I would like from you good folks are any tips on things we can/should do to make hauling a trailer safer and easier. I saw some people talking about overdrive and this and that -- I know NOTHING and don't want to damage my truck or hurt anyone, including myself. We have a very nice, heavy-duty flat deck trailer, 7.5' x 13', with two 3500 lb. axles. I'm planning to put 4-5,000 lbs of hay on it. Any advice?

Many thanks,

Susan

Old 04-20-2009, 08:20 AM
Susan,

I have the same truck as you.

The rear springs are really light. 3-500#'s of tongue weight really drop the back end.
Make sure you have a reciever hitch and you are not towing off the bumper with that weight.

The Heavy Duty trailer with 2-3.5k axles is not heavy duty. If it was heavy duty it would have 5.2k or 6k axles. It is a standard or light duty trailer.