Towing & Hauling

Recommendation on max size travel trailer to tow

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2010, 02:47 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Recommendation on max size travel trailer to tow

Thought I'd dip into the collective wisdom for my first post. I have an '09 screw, bone stock, with the 4.6 3v and 6 speed auto and a 3.55 rear end. I'm hoping to make a cross country trip from CA to GA after retiring from the Army.

I was wondering what is the largest trailer one would recommend hauling.

I know the truck is rated for 7k, but I'm looking for a little more info and I'm a towing newbie so any tips are appreciated.

Thanks, Phillip

Old 12-28-2010, 10:28 AM
APT
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Stick to 5000 pounds unloaded or dry weight as most RV manufacturers call it. That will get you near 6k ready to travel. That will get many half ton trucks near their GVWR with some stuff in the bed.

How much payload does the yellow sticker on your driver's door say your truck has?

Old 12-29-2010, 02:57 AM
Originally Posted by APT
How much payload does the yellow sticker on your driver's door say your truck has?
My truck is rated at 1605 lbs if I understood your question correctly. I found a link to Trailer Life in another post and there are some good towing tips that I'm going to have to spend time reading carefully.

Tips from anyone else?

Phillip

Old 12-29-2010, 12:56 PM
I have the 2010 version of your truck and recently towed a 4K lb travel trailer. I would personally stay around 5k lbs on a 1/2 ton truck especially if you plan to travel across the country.

My 4.6 did great, but the gas mileage sucked! We travelled 1200 miles overall and I averaged 10 mpg for the whole trip. It seemed that no matter what direction we turned, the wind was always in our face and gusty!!!