Towing & Hauling

Can I tow this?

Search this Thread

Old 03-16-2011, 05:16 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can I tow this?

I am looking at purchasing one of these: http://www.rvguide.com/specs/keyston...le/290-ct.html

Will my 2008 Lariat Screw with a 5.4 and 3.73's pull this suffieciently or will I put undue strain on the truck? And what about a 2000 Sierra Scab with a 5.3 and 3.73's? Whenever we go anywhere we will probably put most other stuff in one truck and dedicate the other for towing, so other payload shouldn't be an issue. We both have trailer brake controllers in our trucks. I'm pretty new to the towing scene so any positive help will be much appreciated.

Thanks

Old 03-16-2011, 06:27 PM
glc
Received 773 Likes on 714 Posts
That's just a bit on the heavy side for any 1/2 ton truck.

Old 03-16-2011, 06:34 PM
trailer weight

It will pull it fine. Yes it is asking alot of a half ton but I pull that weight in a fifth wheel and my truck is about the same. 06 with 5.4 and 3.73 gears. my father in law also pulls a 30 ft 5th wheel with his identical truck. and he pulls it to florida from michigan every year.

Old 03-20-2011, 07:40 PM
Personally, I think it's a bit much for the 5.4.

I have about a quarter million miles as an RV transport driver. I used an F350 dually to deliver RV trailers for the northern Indiana based travel trailer companies including Keystone that you are looking at.

The trailer you're buying has a dry weight of 7500 pounds according to the manufacturer but it's probably closer to 7800 npounds in actual weight. (adding a battery and fuel for the propane tanks and any additions that you added from the dealer)

An absolute rule you should try to stick to is pull only trailers that weigh 20% under the trailer weight rating of your truck. You don't mention whether you have the max tow package or the standard tow package but I would suspect you have one or the other because of the 3.73 gear.