Towing & Hauling

Newbie needs advice..........

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 08:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie needs advice..........

2012 SCREW XLT, EcoBoost, 4WD, 3.55, and tow package. I am pretty new to the towing and hauling. Experience is basically towing a 2200# trailer with a 3500# car on it for 400 miles. No issues. As long as we have the truck, I am thinking about renting a travel trailer, and wifey and I going about 2K miles this autumn. As my wife likes her creature comforts, I would like to look at trailers that would support those comforts. But safety is a large concern. I would like some advice on how large a trailer you knowledgeable people think would be reasonable for a newbie. I would be interested in both length and weight. I know I can look at specs on the truck as far as towing capacity, but I really do not think that necessarily relates to prudence.

I am in the upper midwest and there are several large RV dealers within an hour or so. I would not want to rely on an RV salesperson to advise me on choices. I have read enough in the way of horror stories on here about exceeding limits. Definitely do not want to do that......

Thanks for any helpful info..

Old 07-30-2012, 12:15 PM
just you and the wife?

I'd get a 26' trailer and keep the dry weight at 40-60% of your max.

I just picked up a 30' Trail-Lite trailer that weighs in at 53% of my max (when dry) and it tows just fine on my short pulls so far.
But I have bunk beds in the back. For just you 2 you won't need bunks so from what I've seen in looking for a trailer you should be able to find a 26 footer that fits you just fine.

You might want to pick up tow mirrors if you don't have the OEM ones. I got the **** ones off Amazon for like $35

Old 07-30-2012, 12:28 PM
glc
Received 773 Likes on 714 Posts