Towing & Hauling

Towing for the first time... advise?

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2002, 08:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing for the first time... advise?

I've got a '97 Expedition - 5.4, 4x4, 3.73, factory tow pack, electronic brake module (installed yesterday).

I'll be towing a tandem-axle trailer - with brakes (est. weight 1,500-1,800 lbs) carrying a Jeep CJ (est. weight 3,200 lbs).

We'll be driving from Richmond, VA to Moab, UT - 2,000 miles (4,000 round trip), over a couple small mountain ranges and one big one: Vail Pass, Colorado - Elevation 12,000'.

Everything I've read tells me that I'll be fine - Expy rated well above my trailer's weight, got the right gears, got the trailer brakes, got the factory tranny cooler...

But, because this is my first time towing with the Expy and it's such a huge trip, I'm wondering what advise you guys may have for me.

Thanks!

Old 07-30-2002, 12:50 PM
Ensure that your brakes work well.

They should be able to lock-up fully loaded.

When you decend the mountains, go at a speed which can be controlled by your transmission (not brakes). This may mean as low as first gear!

Avoid using your brakes (ie: use brakes sparingly), as you may overheat them to the point of uselessness.

Ensure that your brake controller is properly adjusted. For example, it may have a level control -- which you should be able to (you want to be able to) stop on the decline and re-zero for the declination angle -- so that your truck/trailer brakes are calibrated for the initial application (decending a steep grade 'fools' some controllers into thinking that you are applying the brake).

Be sure that the trailer brakes are adjusted properly.

be sure that you have a solid electrical ground between the truck/trailer.

Run your tires at the tires' maximum pressure (written on sidewall).