Towing & Hauling

Towing up hills

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2002, 10:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing up hills

I am a newbie at towing. I am towing about 1,800 pounds. I have a 5.4L, 4R70W automatic trans, 3.55 gears. I have overdrive transmission. When I go up hills 6-8% grade do I need to take it out of overdrive to go up the hills or put it in 2nd gear? I usually travel between speeds of 50-65 mph. When going up hills what do you need to do? I don’t want to wear my tranny out. Thanks

Old 07-31-2002, 11:00 AM
Certified Goat Breeder
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
If it's truely 1800 pounds, you will not even know it's there.
If you feel the tranny hunting then take it out of OD.
There is no need for you to shift into 2nd.

Old 07-31-2002, 03:25 PM
An 8% grade is a pretty good pull. It won't stay in OD, so that's not an issue; and if it will pull at 65 in direct, you don't have an issue -- unless it's at the point where the torque convertor is not locked-up; in which case, you need to be in second (so that the convertor will stay locked) -- but 65 in second will drive you nutz -- so...

Just use whatever gear feels good and keeps the torque convertor locked.

Old 08-03-2002, 12:14 PM
We have a 6500 Lb 5th wheel travel trailer. When I am pulling up any size grade I keep the engine at 3500 RMP's regardless of speed. This is where my 4.6 makes it's most torque.

Old 08-05-2002, 10:07 AM
Thanks for your input. More the better.

Old 08-08-2002, 01:38 AM
As far as I know, the tq converter only stays locked in OD and 3rd. Second is unlocked. 1800 pounds is light so keep her in OD and let the tranny shift on it's own. You should have no problems. Lock out OD if it "hunts" between OD and 3rd often.

Old 08-09-2002, 12:14 PM
C9x
I have an 02 SuperCrew equipped same as yours.
5.4L, auto, 3.55 diff.
Completely stock.

First part of July we towed a 32 roadster on a car trailer - total trailer weight about 3600# over the famed Ridge Route.