Towing & Hauling

Towing capacity - Auto vs Manual

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2002, 10:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Towing capacity - Auto vs Manual

I'm a newbie here, and I have a question.

I have a 1997 F150 with 4.2L 5-speed 3.08 gears and no trailer tow package. My owners manual states a max trailer tow weight in the 2000 lb area.

The max trailer tow weight for the same truck with the auto trans is almost 5000lbs. What is the limitation with the manual trans? Any ideas?

Obviously the engine and rear axle are capable of the 5000lb capacity, so what is the deal with the manual trans? The manual must be capable of handling the torque produced by the engine, so is it simply a heat management issue?

Do later model year trucks have the same problem with the manual trans?

Very curious

KaosII

Old 09-03-2002, 04:01 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Thumbs down

Yeah, even a 4.6 v-8 with the 5-speed has only like a #3800 towing capacity. 3.08 gears are not really good for towing anything other then a small utility trailer, IMO (auto or manual). I think it’s due to the fact that the 5-speed clutches are just weak. They don’t have the same clutch pressure as the old days when a manual was rated to tow MORE then an automatic……. Compare the effort needed to push in the clutch of an early ‘70s 4 speed to that of the current 5 speeds. They build ‘em now so that everything is ‘easy’ to shift. Even the automatics are set to shift ‘smooth’ so that it’s like driving a Honda. At least with the auto, you can actually tow something with these “trucks”………….

Old 09-03-2002, 11:13 PM
So what would happen if I replaced the clutch with an aftermarket unit (does centerforce make one that fits?), and installed a 3.73 gear? Would I be able to tow more?

Maybe I'm an idiot, but what are the consequences of exceeding the GCWR? Are you not allowed to legally tow above the GCWR? Can you get pulled over and fined? Or is it just very hard on the vehicle?