Towing & Hauling

which Tekonsha for christmas?...

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2002, 02:22 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question which Tekonsha for christmas?...

I've been researching for a couple months and Tekonsha Prodigy would be ideal. Now I have to re-think. I found out Santa will get me a controller, but has a price cap. (I must not have been that nice... )

The SENTINAL, ENVOY, and VOYAGER are in the price range though.

I've towed plenty without trailer brakes.
I hope to be buying a used 18ft fifth wheel so family and safety are paramount. My first fifth wheel experience...
Plus, once I have a controller, I know I'll have a lot of friends who'll request my heavy duty assistance.

Which works best for re-leveling with different loads.
(light fifth wheel to heavy tounge weight -towing vehicles)

Any significant drawbacks between these models? I know the Sentinal is up to 4 axel, but are they all the same inner workings in different housings and switch configuration?

Thanks, Tim

Old 12-11-2002, 08:39 AM
Santa and I have a deal at our house; She doesn't get me anything she doesn't understand (air compressor, table saw, brake controller), and I don't get her anything I don't understand (clothes and other girly stuff).

That being said I would tell Santa that the VOYAGER would be your controller of choice. I've used the VOYAGER and it is a fine piece of equipment; easy to install, adjust, and remove when not in use. I use one with a dual axel car trailer w/ electric brakes that is 1800# empty and 4000# or so loaded. The controller is easy to adjust between loaded and empty, and rarely requires a tweek to compensate for heated/wet brakes. Stopping is smooth and sure, and I like the green LED that stays on all the time the trailer is connected-It helps answer the question "are we still hooked up back there?"

Come back after the holidays if you need a hand hooking everything up.

Old 12-11-2002, 09:58 AM