Brake squeel again

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2006, 05:03 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Brake squeel again

When I replace my stock front pads at 30K I had issues with brake squeel. Did all the right things because I've been changing pads for over 18 yrs. Couldn't stop the noise until I put on ceramics. Worked great, little dust and lasted 70K+ miles. Just replace them again with ceramics and the brake squeel is back. Usually when they are heated up with medium pressure applied; no noise at light or heavy pressure. Any suggestions before I take them off, clean everything again, apply brake quiet and caliper grease? Love changing brakes but not twice in one month!

Old 11-21-2006, 05:57 PM
did you turn the rotors?

if not and they are not deeply scored, apply a non-directional finish to the rotors and pads with some 100-200 grit sandpaper, and make sure everyting is squeaky clean when you reinstall it. but if your pads are contaminated with any kind of grease they will squeal until you replace them again, so just keep that in mind. also check for cracks in the pad material, if they are cracked take them back back to pep-girls, that's covered under the defect warranty on aftermarket pads that can also cause a squeal

if your rotors are scored, turn them or buy new ones, and replace the pads again(it doesn't hurt to apply the non-directional finish here either)

Last edited by flareside4life; 11-21-2006 at 06:00 PM.
Old 11-23-2006, 10:17 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
wash rotors with soap and water

I saw this on the Pat Goss segment of the Motorweek TV show. Pat said when you have rotors or drums resurfaced you must wash them with a soap and water solution to remove the metal chippings left behind. If you don't remove the metal particles they become embedded in the new pads or shoes and cause a squeal. It would be a good idea to do this anytime when replacing pads or shoes. I can tell you it has cut down my squealing problems. Hope this helps.