Replacing pads and rotors

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 02:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Replacing pads and rotors

Ok, just got an 02 f150 4x4, and the brakes are pulsing every now and then. Bought it from the NC mountain area. Figured I would just change them out. Im not a mechanic or anything, but I am capable of doing the work if I had a step by step. So my questions are:

1) Do I have to do all 4, or just the front or back?
2) Do I have to disconnect the caliper?
3) Do I just have to unbolt rotor, slide off, and slide new one on?
4) Am I gonna have to mess with the fluid at all?
5) Any company that you suggest?
6) Would it be cheaper to have the current rotors refinished or whatever?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts...m260243016492&

Searched ebay and found these? This a good company?

Old 05-27-2008, 04:12 PM
Originally Posted by JNC995
Ok, just got an 02 f150 4x4, and the brakes are pulsing every now and then. Bought it from the NC mountain area. Figured I would just change them out. Im not a mechanic or anything, but I am capable of doing the work if I had a step by step. So my questions are:

1) Do I have to do all 4, or just the front or back?
2) Do I have to disconnect the caliper?
3) Do I just have to unbolt rotor, slide off, and slide new one on?
4) Am I gonna have to mess with the fluid at all?
5) Any company that you suggest?
6) Would it be cheaper to have the current rotors refinished or whatever?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Parts...m260243016492&

Searched ebay and found these? This a good company?

1. There arent rotors on the rear, its RWD, so theres "shoes" on the rear insted of calipers and rotors.
2.Yes
3.yes
4.not if you keep the rotor at the same hight as it is normally bolted up (suspend it with string)
5. i dont know where you live
6. it depends on there wear pattern, i personally would just replace them. rotors arent that expensive.