Anti lock barakes locking up

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2008, 07:48 PM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Anti lock barakes locking up

This afternoon my antilock brakes locked up when I had to make a sudden stop as I heard the tires squeeling on the pavement from the lock up. Plus it handled like it was locked up and in a slide. I'll admit I was speeding at the time and still increasing speed but the light I was aproaching tuned yellow and I was too far back to make it before it turned red but close enough that the only way to stop was to slam on the brakes. No warning lights or anything but I sure am pissed the antilock function didn't work like it is supose too. Had to drop from 70mph in a 45 zone in 150ft max by the time I was stopped my driversdoor was at the crosswalk of the intersection.

Old 07-26-2008, 11:08 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OK - first of all STOP speeding, as a firefighter i'm tired of scraping idiots off the black top

the anti lock sounds like it worked- anti lock detects the wheels stopping and releases the brake when the wheel starts turn again the sensor detects this and applies pressure again so as not to deminnish braking power this cycle repeats it's self until you stop or resease the brakes

what you may have heard was the tires sqealing because this happens as pressure is aplied and released over and over

Old 07-26-2008, 11:14 PM
Wow what are the odds. The same thing happened to me today. I've stopped short before but never felt like this. I was very surprised about the squealing and even more surprised when I looked in my rearview and saw tread.

Weird.

Old 07-27-2008, 05:24 PM
Originally Posted by FF301
OK -
the anti lock sounds like it worked- anti lock detects the wheels stopping and releases the brake when the wheel starts turn again the sensor detects this and applies pressure again so as not to deminnish braking power this cycle repeats it's self until you stop or resease the brakes