Wheel Balancing Problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2009, 01:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Wheel Balancing Problem

I got my Saleen 23" rims installed from Discount Tire in May.

Bought the Rims brand new - Bought the tires brand new from onlinetires.com.

I have had these wheels back to Discount Tire 3 times because of the shaking I am getting through the steering column. The problem is still there!!! However they maintain that the wheels have been properly balanced. I have tried 2 different Discount Tire stores.

They say that the wheels are balanced but I never had this shaking before. Could it be another problem with my truck possibly? I am not an expert but surely this has to be a wheel balancing problem?

One thing that is notable is that I still need the TPMS sensors to be mounted in the new wheels... would this possibly make the difference?

Also, the shaking only appears to be extreme within the first couple of times of reaching between 60 - 70mph, after that it seems to settle down to a small vibration.

I would really like rid of this problem as I love these wheels!

Any input is GREATLY appreciated.

HTB

Old 07-18-2009, 01:51 PM
Former Sponsor
If the the tires were balanced with the sensors in the wheels and then they were removed it could throw the balance off. But, if they have not been installed and the wheels were balanced with rubber stems they should be fine. The tires need to be tested for being out of round. To do that, find a shop near you with a Hunter GSP9700 Roadforce balancer, as I doubt it has been done yet. It simulates the weight of the car on the wheel as it is being balanced. If you have an out of round tire it will find it and then the tire can be warrantied. If the tire tests inside of 22 lbs road force they can usually rotate the tire 25% at a time on the rim until the tire balances out. If beyond 22 lbs road force the tire is out of round.

Good luck.

www.gsp9700.com

Old 07-18-2009, 01:52 PM