Help me decide, BFG AT or Pro Comp AT...

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2002, 02:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help me decide, BFG AT or Pro Comp AT...

Alright, it's down to these two tires, and I have no experience with either. I rarely ever see off-road conditions, but it'd be nice to have a good grip should the occasion ever arise. I'm most concerned with over-all handling and performance in dry, wet, and icy / snowy conditions, as well as getting the most mileage possible. 50K would be nice.

I don't care how loud they may be on the highway, etc....the louder, the better in fact. Between the stereo and exhaust, I don't think it's an issue. I love the way the BFG's treads are so much wider than most. I think in most cases, their tread width is almost an inch larger than other companies in the same size. I hear the BFG's are more prone to hydroplaning though.

The BFG AT is only available in a 285/70R17, while I can get the Pro Comp AT in a 33x12.50R17. Does anyone know the EXACT differnce in dimensions between these specific tires?

Keeping all this in mind, what do you think my best bet would be?

I went and checked out a 285/70R16 and a 33x12.50R16 yesterday, both in a BFG AT, and the 33 seemed a LOT wider than the puny 285 did. Thanks!!!

-AR

Old 09-20-2002, 04:40 PM
Just put Procomp AT's on my truck last week and I absolutely love them. Plus, they were a hell of a lot cheaper than the BFG's. I paid $165 each for 315/75/16's, whereas the BFG's in that same size would have run me over $200 each. I saved about $200 total...

Old 09-20-2002, 04:55 PM